Ephraim Katzir

Ephraim Katzir, 1979

Ephraim Katzir (1916 - 2009) was born in Kiev, Ukraine, and served as the 4th President of Israel from 1973 to 1978. In 1925, his family immigrated to Palestine and attended the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, where he eventually completed a Ph.D. in biophysics. He was an assistant in the Hebrew University’s department for theoretical and macromolecular chemistry from 1941 to 1945. In 1949, he was appointed acting head and then head of the department of biophysics at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot. In 1951, he spent a sabbatical year at Harvard Medical School. From 1966 to 1968 Katzir was chief scientist of the Israel Defense Ministry.

Linus Pauling

Linus Pauling, 1978

Linus Pauling (1901 - 1994) was an American scientist, peace activist, author and educator. He was one of the most influential chemists in history and ranks among the most important scientists in any field of the 20th century. Pauling was among the first to work in the fields of quantum chemistry, molecular biology, and orthomolecular medicine. He is one of few individuals to have been awarded more than one Nobel Prize, and one of only two people to receive the Nobel in two different fields. He is also the only person in that group to have been awarded each of his prizes without sharing it with another recipient.

György Kepes

György Kepes, 1976

György Kepes (1906 - 2001) was a Hungarian-born painter, designer, educator and art theorist. At age 18, Kepes enrolled at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Budapest, where he studied for four years with Istvan Csok, a Hungarian impressionist painter. In the same period, he was also influenced by the socialist avant-garde movement.

Hans Bethe

Hans Bethe, 1975

Hans Bethe (1906 - 2005) completed his Ph. D. in theoretical physics in 1928. He then held a position as Acting Assistant Professor at the University of Tubingen, which he lost after fleeing the Nazi regime in Germany. Bethe emigrated to England in 1933 where he held a position as Lecturer at the University of Manchester, and then received a fellowship at the University of Bristol in the fall of 1934. In 1935 he was appointed Assistant Professor at Cornell University, then promoted to Professor in the summer of 1937.

Robert M. Solow

Robert M. Solow, 1975

Robert M. Solow (b. 1924) is considered to be one of the founders of modern neoclassical economics. He utilized determinants of economic growth to be separated out into increases in inputs and technical progress. Using his model, he calculated that about four-fifths of the growth in U.S. output per worker was attributable to technical progress. Solow also was the first to develop a growth model with different vintages of capital.

Cyril S. Smith

Cyril S. Smith, 1975

Professor Cyril Stanley Smith (1903 - 1992) had a long and distinguished career as an industrial metallurgist, professor of metallurgy and historian of technology and science at the University of Chicago and at MIT. Although dedicated to active research in physical metallurgy, early in his career he developed a deep interest in the history of his discipline, as well as in the historical interactions of science, technology and art.

Philip Morrison

Philip Morrison, 1975

Professor Philip Morrison (1915 - 2005) was Institute Professor Emeritus and Professor of Physics Emeritus at MIT. Morrison earned his B.S. at the Carnegie Institute of Technology and in he earned his Ph.D. in theoretical physics at the University of California, Berkeley, under the supervision of J. Robert Oppenheimer.

An Evening with Documentary Film Producers and their Films: Geri Ashur, Alan Jacobs, Peter Hermann

An Evening with Documentary Film Producers and their Films: Geri Ashur, Alan Jacobs, Peter Hermann, 1974

Kenneth Boulding

Kenneth Boulding, 1974

Kenneth Ewart Boulding (1910 - 1993) was an economist, educator, peace activist, poet, religious mystic, systems scientist, and interdisciplinary philosopher. He was cofounder of General Systems Theory and founder of numerous ongoing intellectual projects in economics and social science.

Lester R. Brown, Nevin Scrimshaw, Glen Urban

Lester R. Brown, Nevin Scrimshaw, Glen Urban, 1974

Older lectures