Paul A. Samuelson

Paul A. Samuelson, 1969

Paul Anthony Samuelson (1915 - 2009) was an American neo-Keynesian economist known for his contributions to many fields of economics, beginning with his general statement of the comparative statics method in his 1947 book Foundations of Economic Analysis. Samuelson was awarded the John Bates Clark Medal in 1947 and was sole recipient of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 1970, the second year of the Prize.

Hubert Humphrey

Hubert Humphrey, 1969

Hubert Horatio Humphrey, Jr. (1911-1978) was the thirty-eighth Vice President of the United States, serving under President Lyndon B. Johnson. Humphrey was a U.S. Senator from Minnesota and the Democratic Majority Whip. Humphrey also served as mayor of Minneapolis, Minnesota from 1945-1949. In 1968, Humphrey was the Democratic Party nominee in the Presidential Election, but lost to the Republican candidate, Richard Nixon.

McGeorge Bundy

McGeorge Bundy, 1968

McGeorge Bundy (1919-1996) was the United States National Security Advisor to Presidents John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson from 1961-1966. Bundy was also a noted Professor of Government at Harvard, and was known as a strong proponent for the American bombing of North Vietnam. Bundy later expressed regret over the decision, and was one of the first administration members to do so publicly. He spent much of his later career analyzing and criticizing America’s Vietnam policy. He subsequently served as president of the Ford Foundation from 1966-1979.

Harvey Brooks

Harvey Brooks, 1962

Harvey Brooks (1915 - 2004) was born in Cleveland, Ohio, and attended Yale University, receiving a bachelor’s degree in mathematics in 1937.  He completed a Ph.D. degree in physics at Harvard University in 1940 under the direction of J.H. van Vleck. In 1946 he joined the staff at General Electric, serving as associate head of the Knolls Atomic Power Lab. He returned to Harvard in 1950, and from 1957 to 1975 served as Dean of the Division of Engineering and Applied Physics. In addition to his research on solid state physics, nuclear engineering, and underwater acoustics, Dr. Brooks devoted his energy to the link between science and public policy. More complete information regarding his career may be found in the proceedings of the American Philosophical Society from December 2010.

Isidor I. Rabi

Isidor I. Rabi, 1962

Isidor Isaac Rabi (1898 - 1988) achieved a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry from Cornell University in 1919, and received his Ph.D. at Cornell in 1927. He spent the next two years in Europe on a fellowship, working with such eminent physicists as Niels Bohr, Werner Heisenberg, Wolfgang Pauli, and Otto Stern. He then became a Columbia faculty member spent the remainder of his career at the University.

Andre Lwoff

Andre Lwoff, 1960

André Michel Lwoff (1902 - 1994) was a French microbiologist who joined the Institut Pasteur in Paris when he was just 19 years old. In 1932, he finished his Ph.D. and, with the help of a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation, moved to the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute for Medical Research, Heidelberg, in the lab of Otto Meyerhof. Here he did research on the development of flagellates. Another Rockefeller grant allowed him go to the University of Cambridge in 1937. In 1938, he was appointed departmental head of the Institut Pasteur, where he did groundbreaking research on bacteriophages and on the poliovirus.