Mario J. Molina

Mario J. Molina, 2015

Mario J. Molina (b. 1943) is one of the leading scientists in the world, dedicated to atmospheric chemistry. He co-authored with Frank Sherwood Rowland the 1974 Nature article predicting the depletion of the ozone layer as a direct consequence of the emissions of certain industrial gases, chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs). The “CFC-ozone depletion theory” led to their earning the 1995 Nobel Prize in Chemistry jointly with Paul J. Crutzen. Professor Molina’s research and publications on the subject also influenced the United Nations Montreal Protocol, a landmark international agreement designed to protect the ozone layer. He is a former MIT Institute Professor and at present, he presides over the Mario Molina Center for Strategic Studies on Energy and Environment in Mexico, which conducts research and promotes public policies. The Center focuses on strategic studies of energy and the environment, particularly in the field of climate change and air quality.

Francis S. Collins

Francis S. Collins, 2014

Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD is the Director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).  In that role he oversees the work of the largest supporter of biomedical research in the world, spanning the spectrum from basic to clinical research. Dr. Collins is a physician-geneticist noted for his landmark discoveries of disease genes and his leadership of the international Human Genome Project, which culminated in April 2003 with the completion of a finished sequence of the human DNA instruction book. He served as director of the National Human Genome Research Institute at the NIH from 1993-2008. Before coming to the NIH, Dr. Collins was a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator at the University of Michigan. He is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine and the National Academy of Sciences, was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom in November 2007, and received the National Medal of Science in 2009.

Hon. Valerie Jarrett

Hon. Valerie Jarrett, 2014

Valerie Jarrett currently serves as Senior Advisor to President Barack Obama. She oversees the White House Offices of Public Engagement and Intergovernmental Affairs, and chairs the White House Council on Women and Girls. Prior to joining the Obama Administration, Ms. Jarrett was the Chief Executive Officer of The Habitat Company. She has held positions in both the public and private sector, including Chairman of the University of Chicago Medical Center Board of Trustees, Chairman of the Chicago Transit Board, Commissioner of Planning and Development for the City of Chicago, and Deputy Chief of Staff for Mayor Richard M. Daley. She also practiced law with two private law firms. Ms. Jarrett has served as a director of corporate and not for profit boards, including Chairman of the Board of the Chicago Stock Exchange, Director of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, and Trustee at the Museum of Science and Industry. She received her BA from Stanford University in 1978 and her JD from the University of Michigan Law School in 1981.

Janet Napolitano

Janet Napolitano, 2011

Janet Napolitano (b. 1957), now president of the University of California system, served from 2009 to 2013 as the third secretary of the Department of Homeland Security, in which role she directed the nation’s counterterrorism, border security, immigration enforcement, as well as disaster preparedness, response, and recovery. Prior to joining the Obama Administration, she was mid-way through her second term as governor of Arizona. While governor, Napolitano became the first woman to chair the National Governors Association, through which she was instrumental in creating the Public Safety Task Force and the Homeland Security Advisors Council. She also chaired the Western Governors Association and served as the attorney general of Arizona and the US attorney for the District of Arizona.

Rt. Hon. David Miliband MP

Rt. Hon. David Miliband MP, 2010

David Miliband (b. 1965) is the former Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs of the United Kingdom, in which post he served from June 2007 to October 2010. Secretary Miliband was educated at Haverstock Comprehensive School in London. After graduating with first class honors in philosophy, politics, and economics from Corpus Christi College, Oxford University, he completed a master’s degree in political science in 1990 at MIT, where he was a Kennedy Scholar. He is the elder son of the late Marxist theoretician Ralph Miliband and Marion Kozak, and his brother is the Right Honorable Edward Miliband MP, former Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change.